On way home from Basingstoke. I stayed with my oldest, dearest friend Karen who i’ve known since the age of 8! We are only 6 months apart in age. We met at Bournemouth ice rink when she came over from the states and we became firm pals. Karen is fun, eccentric and incredibly intelligent, she speaks fluent Spanish and German and I couldn’t think of a better person to enjoy a glass of sangria with to toast the launch of my book. We had a great weekend, caught up, chatted endlessly about the past, present and future. She is a special friend who I feel very comfortable with. At times she has inspired me with my writing due to her fabulous vocabulary and little quips she comes out with and her red hair inspired me for the character Sarah, who is ironically my leading lady’s best friend!

Catherine x

