Tags

I am so excited to hear that my idol Katarina Witt is going to be a judge on Dancing on Ice.

Why you may ask, well I was a competitive figure skater from the age of five to eighteen, and when I started skating in the 80’s Katarina was conquering the skating world.

I adored her style, her strength, she was so exciting and I wanted to be just like her. She had the most fabulous presence and always performed a theme, which back then the ladies didn’t do much. The skaters would just skate to a bit of this and a bit of that but Katarina would become a character.

I still idolise her to this day, and it’s great being able to discover more about her because when I was little the internet wasn’t around and information about her was hard to come by. Much of this was also to do with the fact she was from former East Germany, and therefore protected by the regime. Wow I’d of given anything to have joined her fan club as a kid.

Now I can go on YouTube and watch her past performances such as Carmen when she won the 88 Olympics, and her Gershwin number which she performed back in 84 In Sarajevo. Sadly the rink is no longer there due to the product of war.

Her performances remind me of very happy times of my life when ice skating was magical for me, and I suppose for skating fans around the globe. These days however I think it’s become too mechanical. Yes what the skaters can perform jump wise is incredible, but the characters aren’t there any more.

So I think this year I will watch it, plus Louie Spence is on the show and he’s hilarious I can’t wait to hear what he comes out with!

Catherine x

20120105-144130.jpg

