Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I spoke very candidly and openly about my dyslexia on BBC radio Solent yesterday. I didn’t mention that I was dyscalculias too.

I told my interviewer Zoe, that I found out that I was dyslexic when I was 27, and basically felt stupid for 27 years!

Okay, I’m giggling but it’s the truth, I simply didn’t have confidence in myself and wouldn’t even try things that I found to be intellectually intimidating. (filling in forms!!!)

Maths
Thinking about children learning maths in school.

Children who are poor at maths will no doubt struggle in every day to day activities such as, reading bus time tables, organising events, working out how to use electrical products, cooking meals from scratch, (such as a roast chicken) are often fearful of travelling and working out where one needs to be at certain times.

For me most of the above was so true. However, I was taught to cook at an early age, so therefore cooking has never worried me, but I do have to concentrate or even ask how long the chicken needs to go Into the oven for. (How many minutes to cook per kilo )

For those who at an early age struggle with maths, surly it is more logical to make certain that they will be able to deal with day to day daily actives, apposed to working out the square route of 2764, when clearly they will never really grasp the concept. Show them how to fill in forms, how to read train and bus timetables, giving back change! I know that this is in the curriculum, but make sure the children/teens really do get it, if they’re not going to grasp the basic day to day maths, which will improve their lives, how on earth will they understand algebra and multiple fractions!

I say drill in the times table and gear them up for life. I teach exercise to music and even I incorporate ‘exercises ‘ that will improve a person’s day to day existence.

Leave the isosceles triangles to the mathematical boffins who will use their skills to become bank managers and maths teacher and engineers. Allow those who struggle to find a way in which they can feel more comfortable in using every day maths to help them through their daily lives. That’s more important.

Also, when a person is poor at maths their confidence is shattered and therefore will buy microwave unhealthy meals, supposed to the roast chicken because it’s easy! They maybe scared to travel and won’t go for that job interview.

Unfortunately due to being sometimes let down at school, we then enter adulthood battered and broken, confidence zero, ambition zero.

English

I hate this new modern way of talking, we have a beautiful language yet words are chopped and hacked to bits. Soon our beautiful vocabulary will be a distant memory.

My other pet peeve due to finding spelling so difficult, is when advertising companies spell words incorrectly on purpose such as ‘skool’ and turn letters around so they’re back to front. Yeah thanks that really helps us dyslexics!

Spelling is tough for dyslexics as well as punctuation. Once again for those who lack the skills, the basics need to be drummed into us. Yes it could mean that we may need to stay behind and keep going over the basics until we know it, but it’s imperative. We are taught how to write letters at school but it’s important that we know this perfectly, otherwise how will we correspond and perhaps seek work? Some people leave school and cannot compose a letter correctly, how will they get a job! Basics, basics, basics.

The basics are our main problems, for those with learning disabilities, it’s the basics we must conquer, other wise we will never progress.

Parents, how do you react when you receive your child’s school report?

Supportive
Encouraging
Frightening
Unapproachable
Angry
Strict
Pro active
Assertive
Not concerned

Are you helping your child to
Learn the best way for them?

Catherine x

