Tags

, , , , ,

Some call dyslexia a gift, others don’t even believe it exists, some call it an excuse for laziness.

As a dyslexic I’m not sure if I’d call it a gift or…a challenge, as yes it can be rewarding ( artistically intelligent, think outside the box etc…) and also at times a hindrance. I most certainly do not use my dyslexia as “an excuse” however, I’m very aware of it.

As for those who believe dyslexia to be a figment of a thick, or lazy, or non committed, bone-Idol, stupid, non-visionary, or incompetent person’s imagination, I say “whatever!”

Unless you can actually climb into the head of a dyslexic, feel what we feel, see what we see, read how we read, and de-code the way we de-code, then I kindly ask you to mind your business, or as they say in Italian “fatte e fatte tuoi”

It’s easy to judge isn’t it? Just because you can read, write and work brilliantly with facts, figures and numbers, doesn’t mean that everyone else can do the same. You are very lucky to have that skill and good for you!

A competent gymnast would find a summersault incredibly easy, and would take little or no thought to perform the manoeuvre. Do you really think this gymnast would go around calling the rest of the non-summersaulting population lazy, thick, or stupid just because they cannot perform this move? I doubt.

Okay, so performing a summersault isn’t exactly an essential skill, but the gymnast respects the difficulty and that it’s a unique discipline.

“What’s simple to one person, may not be simple to another!”

Us dyslexics are capable of learning, we just need sometimes to be shown in a different way, it’s called “teaching” and “supporting differing needs.” I’m aware however that some schools lack the resources to support this issue, but unfortunately the child will suffer as a result in the long term.

Yes, a person’s inability to learn something quickly can be incredibly frustrating for the teacher, or the parent, and can cause massive arguments tears and tantrums, oh I do sympathise! However, do you not think that it maybe frustrating for the learner too? And I’ll also tell you something else, the difference between us dyslexics is that compared to the lazy, the non-committed and the darn right bone idle, is that we “want” to learn! We love information, we love to be creative and we love to introduce our skills to the world.

“The only problem is lack of confidence.”

I am dyslexic and I’m teaching 22 exercise classes per week, ( varied disciplines ) plus I’m working at a successful Health Boot Camp in-between my regular classes, making time to write the third instalment of The Sweet Jasmine Series, and have a life with my loved ones. Dare call me lazy!

Go get em dyslexics 😉

Catti x

