Tags

, , , , , ,

/2014/10/img_4708.jpg”>IMG_4708.JPG

IMG_4722.JPG

IMG_4719.JPG

IMG_4720.JPG

IMG_4721.JPG

IMG_4752.JPG

IMG_4748.JPG

IMG_4750.JPG

Last night I was invited along with ‘The Sweet Jasmine Series,’ to a wonderful charity event in association with Macmillan.

The organisers were a group of Indonesian ladies, who asked if I would be so kind as to donate some of my books for the raffle to raise money.

‘Of course,’ I said!

The Indonesian ladies who were dressed in traditional attire, put on a wonderful feast of typical Indonesian food, and entertained the guests with two Balinese dance routines.

The event raised hundreds of pounds for Christchurch hospital’s Macmillan ward.

It was great fun and when people won my books in the raffle, they were really excited that I was present at the event.

What I learnt
Approximately 350 patients with terminal cancer reside at Christchurch hospital.
Money raised from charity events goes towards buying essential equipment at the hospital.
Funding for palliative equipment is limited and dropping rapidly, therefore the hospital is relying more and more on fundraising days by members of the public to keep the hospital going.

Wow!
Im so pleased my little books made such a big difference.

Catherine xxx

